Quick quick

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Quick quick

  1. I'd be willing to wrangle the interface to do data entry (and first-pass record searches) on Ancestry.com to bash your known tree data into easily-outputtable formats, if you like. I enjoy doing it, and have run out of low-hanging fruit from my own tree (the rest are all more work than I'm up to this week).

  2. That's kind of you, but we already have all that – it's making complex relationships clear to the children I'm planning, and a tree seems simplest.

  3. I sometimes wish I were raising her in a language that used internally consistent spelling. She'd prefer it.I wonder how Irish fares on that account.I used to think its spelling system was worse than English in its unpredictability of sound from spelling and vice versa, but I've been told that the symbol-to-sound correspondences are more regular than I had thought (they're just unusual occasionally, for English speakers, plus Irish has more consonant phonemes than English, what with the broad/slender distinction, and so has different needs in order to represent them all with the 26 letters of the Roman alphabet).Though knowing basically no Irish, I have no idea how easy it would be to learn to read it – how many exceptions there are, or whether once you've got the rules down, it's pretty straightforward.(I forgot – do your children speak any Irish?)

  4. I found Irish very simple to learn to read, when I was 3. I made fewer embarrassing errors reading aloud, too – I remember some English-reading errors I got teased about for years, and none in Irish. But my children don't speak it (though they are aware other languages exist, and have spoken a few words of a few different ones at various times; we have books for them in Irish, French and Swedish, for example).

  5. I'm curious about whether "this book about a steam shovel" was familiar to you prior to Five in a Row. Here it is absolutely one of the most famous picture books of all time, probably equivalent to Beatrix Potter in belovedness and widely-readness.

  6. No, I'm finding Five In A Row very interesting that way – I had more American books as a child than most people I knew but they're (FIAR) almost all new to me anyway. I had heard of Ping before because of geeks I know going through a phase of buying it, but that's it. It's a very very American curriculum.

Leave a Reply

